http://rowville.blog.barryplant.com.au/2010/11/10/young-mums-learn-from-experience/

When I was 17, I was in the local paper as a teen mum through my young mums group! This helped me a lot. A lot of people I knew from high school and who I used to dance with saw this and I was flooded with messages of support for the first time! I think having this published about myself and seeing the reaction I got from people after I could tell my story really inspired me to tell other peoples’ stories and hopefully get the word around that we’re actually not all terrible people.
Since becoming a mother I’ve been called a slut, accused of using drugs, told I neglect my daughter and don’t deserve her countless times, and basically been told everything I do is wrong.
My personal stereotype was that I’d go out every night, get drunk, use drugs, put my daughter in childcare all day, and basically palm her off to my mum and have nothing to do with her. 
In reality I was a dedicated stay at home mother for 2 years, I practiced “attachment parenting” which basically means I breastfed for 2 years, I co-slept, and used a baby carrier. I didn’t go anywhere without her til she was 18 months old and had no choice and every day I struggle leaving my baby at childcare, but I’m doing it so I can give her a good life in the long run! If anything I’ve always been too clingy, the complete opposite of my stereotype.
People just don’t understand it yet and it is something that could happen to any sexually active teenager no matter how careful they are. I think people need to understand the pros, as well as all the cons of having a baby young, so they know at least not to intentionally do it, but don’t judge those who do get pregnant too young.

Leave a comment